Star InactiveStar InactiveStar InactiveStar InactiveStar Inactive
well as life saving and water safety initiatives.

Surf Life Saving Australia Life Members Greg Allum (WandaSLSC, Cronulla SLSC – NSW) and Norm Farmer (Mordialloc SLSC, FrankstonSLSC – VIC) were appointed a member of the Order of Australia (AM); while CyrilBaldock (Bondi SBLSC – NSW), Thomas Holmes (North Burleigh SLSC – QLD),Darryl Pope (Seacliff SLSC – SA), George Shales (Coogee SLSC,Maroubra SLSC – NSW), Hugh Small (Cudgen Headland SLSC – NSW) andJohn Vaughan (Wauchope Bonny Hills SLSC – NSW) all received a Medal of theOrder of Australia (OAM). Darren McLeod (HamptonSLSC, Seaford SLSC, Point Leo SLSC – VIC) was awarded the Emergency Services Medal.

Surf Life Saving Australia President, Graham Ford AM,congratulated those associated with the movement who were today honoured fortheir outstanding service.

“On behalf of Surf Life Saving Australia, I would like tocongratulate Greg, Norm, Cyril, Thomas, Darryl, George, Hugh, John and Darrenfor their outstanding service, achievement and recognition in today’s Queen’sBirthday Honours,” said Ford.

“All are all extremely worthy recipients and surf lifesaving isvery proud and fortunate to have their contributions and involvement in ourmovement.

Chief Executive Officer Adam Weir echoed Ford’s sentiments incongratulating the surf lifesavers’ honoured and reinforced their importance tothe community.

“Congratulations to these outstanding life savers on receivingthese prestigious honours today,” said Weir. “All are not only are theyoutstanding life savers, they are also exceptional people and citizens whothoroughly deserve this recognition.

“Our 314 Surf Life Saving Clubs across the country form a vitalrole within each local community and it’s the individuals within each club,such as those honoured today that are the cornerstone of our clubs andcommunity,” added Weir.

Volunteer surf lifesavers give up more than 1.3 million hours topatrol Australian beaches each year, but more than that, they contribute tolocal communities across the country through patrolling, training and educatingour young people, community awareness, fundraising and so much more.

Surf Life SavingAustralia also wishes to acknowledgeQueenscliff SLSC Member, The Honourable Tony Abbott who was also honoured todayas a Companion (AC) for his eminent service to the people and Parliament ofAustralia, particularly as Prime Minister, and through significantcontributions to trade, border control, and to the Indigenous community.

Congratulationsto the below members who have been recognised for their contribution to SurfLife Saving in the 2020 Queen’s Birthday Honours:

Members of the Order (AM)

Greg Allum OAM(Wanda SLSC, Cronulla SLSC – NSW)

For significant service to surf lifesaving, tointernational federations, and to the community

Norm Farmer ESM(Mordialloc SLSC, Frankston SLSC – VIC)

For significant service to life savingat the national and international level, and to water safety initiatives

Medal of the Order of Australia (OAM)

Cyril Baldock(Bondi SBLSC – NSW)

For service to surf lifesaving

Thomas Holmes(North Burleigh SLSC – QLD)

For service to surf lifesaving, and tothe community

Darryl Pope(Seacliff SLSC – SA)

For service to surf lifesaving, and tomusic education

George Shales(Coogee SLSC, Maroubra SLSC – NSW)

For service to surf lifesaving

Hugh Small(Cudgen Headland SLSC – NSW)

For service to surf lifesaving, and toathletics

John Vaughan (Wauchope Bonny Hills SLSC – NSW)

For service to medicine, and to surflifesaving

Emergency Services Medal (ESM)

Darren McLeod (Hampton SLSC, Seaford SLSC, Point Leo SLSC– VIC)

Go to top